The CHP reported that a third-grade teacher at Earl Warren Elementary School - Sacramento Unified School District missed a turn and damaged three vehicles and two homes until coming to a stop. The driver, identified as 56-year-old Patricia Ann Robertson, was driving her Mustang westbound vehicle on Deddington Way close to Arnside Way when she attempted to make a right turn but instead went straight.
Robertson was driving to school on the morning of December 5th when she caused the accident. Her car sideswiped another and hit a second one parked in a driveway on the 8100 block of Arnside Way.
The impact was so powerful that it pushed the second car into a house. Robertson’s car then continued forward and to the right, where it struck John Sandhu’s house.
The preliminary alcohol test on Robertson read three times the legal limit of 0.08, according to CHP officer Rick Turner. The blood test is pending. The woman was arrested and booked into Sacramento County Jail on driving under the influence charges, from where she was later released. District spokesperson Gabe Ross declared that Robertson has been placed on paid administrative leave and will begin their investigation and work with law enforcement to make sure the appropriate measures are taken.
Driving Statistics of Alcohol-Impaired Incidents
The ratio of deadly injured drivers with BACs at or above 0.08% declined steadily in the past years. 25% of the passenger vehicle drivers killed in 2012 had BACs at or above 0.15% correlated with 19% of deadly injured motorcycle drivers. A higher proportion of males than females had BACs at or above 0.08% at every age and, overall, 38% of males and 20% of females had BACs at or above 0.08%.
California Drunk Driving Rules
California State has tough drunk driving regulations for drivers under the age limit of 21 and repeat culprits and a no tolerance assumption for those drivers younger than 18. Also, a driver of a commercial vehicle is restricted from driving only with a .04% BAC or higher. California's driving under the influence law restricts a person from driving when they have a concentration of .08% or more alcohol in their blood system.
While driving in the State of California, the following is illegal:
- a driver under 18, cannot use a car with any determinable blood alcohol concentration
- any driver may not drive with a BAC of .08% or higher
- drivers under 21 cannot carry unsealed wine, beer, or liquor in their car while they are driving by themselves (exceptions exist for work related driving)
- drivers under 21 may not take in alcohol in any form, including cough syrup and prescription drugs
- drivers under 21 may not drive with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of .01% or higher
- repeat offenders may not drive with a BAC of .01% or greater
- the driver of any automobile that demands a commercial license cannot drive with a BAC of .04% or higher
The penalties for a DUI in California will depend on the case situation, yet in general, the sentencing guidelines for a DUI are as follows:
4th offense* – within ten months of 3rd DUI
Two years** – it can be shortened to 1 year
IID*** – Interlock Ignition Device
List of Necessary Legal Documents For a Claim
A series of documents is required for our clients to bring along so that we can accurately analyze the circumstances of their case and advise them on the best course of action. The documents we ask you to bring include:
- a copy of statements given to the insurance company
- a copy of the accident report
- a copy of your insurance policy
- a copy of your medical records
- a copy of your pay records
- a copy of your psychological reports if the accident had an emotional impact
- any tickets related to the accident
- evidence of insurance premium payments
- pictures taken at the crash scene or with your injuries
- the other party's name and phone number
We have zero tolerance for drunk drivers! My staff and I work tirelessly to ensure our clients recover their damages and are fairly compensated for their injuries. When you or your loved one have been involved in a drunk driving accident in Sacramento or Elk Grove areas, call us at 800.722.4176 for a free case evaluation.